Blueberry Banana “Thanks-for-having-me-to-stay” Muffins

I’m afraid I’ve been shirking my blogging duties of late.  What with the holidays, school vacations, tax time, and the business of business, baking for fun and writing about it sort of fell by the wayside.  But now I suddenly find myself with a week (sort of) off.  You’ve gotta love the Dutch and their many vacations.  This one’s called the Crocus Vacation (soon to be followed by the Tulip Vacation).

Having your own start-up company, combined with single-motherhood, can be pretty gruelling, so I decided to mix business with pleasure and go hide out at a friend’s to nip my impending burnout in the bud.  The weather here has been divine, up until this morning, when I awoke to a cold gray chill that was more reminiscent of Northern California than Los Angeles.  But no matter!  This seemed like the perfect opportunity to light the fireplace and bake my friend a batch of homemade “thanks-for-having-me-to-stay” muffins.  Actually, I originally intended to prove that I could whip up a batch of scones in under 20 minutes – my friend didn’t believe me – but alas there was no cream in the fridge…

As we sat eating our second helping of these delicious warm muffins with a nice big cup of latte, I thought of you, dear readers, and decided I should share this recipe for a cold and rainy day.  Muffins are easy and you can usually find the ingredients you need in your pantry at any given time.  For example, I used buttermilk, because I happened to have some left over from yesterday, when I whipped up some Antoinette Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting.  But I could just have easily used milk or sour cream instead.  I found some blueberries in the fridge (not even a whole cup) and a red banana I bought at Whole Foods the other day, which has refused to ripen, but which was perfect for baking.  Feel free to use anything you have on hand – even dried fruit will do in a pinch.

P1000373

Blueberry Banana “Thanks-for-having-me-to-stay” Muffins

Dry ingredients:
1 cup granulated sugar (210 gr)
2 cups flour (280 gr)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt

Wet ingredients:
1/2 cup butter  (113 gr) – melted and slightly cooled
1/2 cup buttermilk (125 ml)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

Fruit:
1 cup blueberries
1 banana, mashed

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375˚ F (190˚ C)
  • Grease the cups of a 12-muffin baking tin
  • Put all of the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl and whisk together
  • Add the melted butter, buttermilk, eggs, and vanilla and stir with a wooden spoon until completely moistened (batter will be thick and lumpy)
  • Fold in the blueberries and mashed banana using a rubber spatula
  • Spoon batter into muffin cups
  • Bake 15 to 20 minutes (muffins will be lightly golden)

Turn the muffins out of the pan and eat them warm from the oven slathered with butter – go ahead, live a little!  Muffins are best the day they are made, but you can freeze them and warm them up in a 300˚ oven for about 15 minutes.

And now I’m going back to quietly meditating by the fireplace (actually, I’m sneaking into the kitchen and nicking another muffin – shhhh…).

“Let them eat cake!”

Love,

Pavanne

This entry was posted in Baking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blueberry Banana “Thanks-for-having-me-to-stay” Muffins

  1. Andy Butler says:

    Thanks for sharing the recipe…Everett loves warm muffins so with a little luck I can motivate his 13 year old highly capable in the kitchen back side to make a batch this weekend…OK, who am I kidding…he’ll enjoy the batch I make!

Leave a Reply

