Sweets For My Sweet

After a month of doing nothing but paperwork, I was starting to wonder what I had gotten myself into.  I’m a poet, not an accountant.  Production was at a standstill and I had no time to bake, much less dream up new recipes – my favorite thing to do!  But now we’re finally done and I must say I feel a great sense of accomplishment.

We needed to get away from the office for some fresh air, so we’ve been out all week promoting our mixes.  I just love watching people when they taste one of our freshly baked cupcakes, a mixture of surprise and delight on their faces.  Sometimes I bring chocolate chip cookies along as well.  After tasting one, and then another, they invariably want to know if they might keep the entire tin – to share, of course…

I was in the kitchen today, baking chocolate cupcakes and brownies for tomorrow.  I wanted to do something a little different so, with Valentine’s Day just around the corner, I decided to combine the two and make something I once saw in a magazine and always wanted to try.  Now, cake decorating has never been my strong suit.  I can cook food that will make you think the angels are pissing on your tongue, as the Dutch would say, but hand me a pastry bag and I’m all thumbs!

Still, I think these turned out pretty cute, which means anyone can do it.  All you need is a few of our mixes and a heart-shaped cookie cutter, and you’re in business!  I had planned to tint the frosting pink, but I had to rush all over town this afternoon looking for a pair of ice skates for my youngest and, by the time I got home, I had completely forgotten.  Try making these for your Valentine next week.  They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach — and, boys, if any of you are reading this:  the way to a woman’s heart is too!

Orders for our mixes have been pouring in all week, so you may already have everything you need to make these.  Otherwise, be sure to pop by Bakfeest & Zo, iBake Cupcakes, or Vivre Pour Toi for supplies.  If you order from our site by Friday, February 10, I’ll be sure to post it right away and include a free pack of heart cupcake wrappers.

Valentine Cupcakes
makes 12

You will need:

Antoinette Chocolate Cupcake Mix
Antoinette Vanilla Frosting Mix or Antoinette Chocolate Frosting Mix
Antoinette Fudge Brownie Mix
Cupcake wrappers – red, pink, or hearts
Sprinkles
Small heart-shaped cookie cutter

Directions:

Prepare the cupcakes according to package instructions.

While they are baking, make the frosting according to package instructions.  (You could add a little pink gel food coloring if you like)

While the cupcakes are cooling, prepare the brownies according to package instructions. Make sure you line the pan with baking paper and leave some hanging over two of the sides so you can lift them out easily.

To assemble:

Once the cupcakes have cooled, spread frosting on them using a butter knife or offset spatula.  Add sprinkles.

Once the brownies have cooled completely, lift them out of the pan.  Using your cookie cutter, cut 12 heart shapes out of your brownies.

Place the brownie hearts on top of the cupcakes and spread the love!

Happy Valentines Day!

Love,

Pavanne
“Let them eat cake!”

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

