Belgian Chocolates and a Happy Halloween!


Last week, I took my kids to Bruges for their fall break and boy did we have a blast!  We explored medieval buildings, cruised the canals, visited art galleries and museums, took carriage rides, drank Kriek (well I did), and ate buckets full of mussels.

But what made this city a child’s paradise was the chocolate.

With more than 70 chocolatiers in the old city center alone, we didn’t have enough time to try them all, but we did our best!

I’m not even going to tell you how much money I spent on chocolate in those brief three days – I wonder if I can write that off on our taxes as research…?  My youngest has already eaten all of his, my eldest has more self-control, and I still have a couple of bites left.  I’ll have to hit the gym every day for several weeks in order to work off all of those extra calories, but it was definitely worth it!

Slipping in and out of these beautiful shops, I couldn’t help but admire their artistry.  My boys’ favorite was a larger than life anteater with huge ants on display in one of the windows.

The life-sized chocolate human sculptures in 11th century garb on display at the Chocolate Museum were also quite impressive.  (The ones pictured here were smaller, but they had a few that were taller than me!)

It struck me that Brigitte and I have something in common with these artisans.  Our baking mixes are also lovingly handmade one bag at a time, and that’s why they taste so good!

On our last day, we came across a gorgeous cupcake shop.  All of the chocolate shops had outdone themselves for Halloween and these cupcakes were no exception.  Those pumpkin macaroons were glorious and the marzipan spiders rocked!

I hope you will understand that I am not baking this week since I have absolutely no self-control when it comes to sweets, but I thought it would be fun to share a Halloween-y Pumpkin Cupcake recipe from My Kitchen Addiction with you.  They look yummy!

And now it’s back to work – we’ve made close to 300 mixes so far this week.  We had to stop when we ran out of flour this afternoon.  Sure hope our supplier has finally re-stocked the shelves cause I’m going shopping!

Let them eat cake!

Love,
Pavanne
AntoinetteOnline

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Belgian Chocolates and a Happy Halloween!

  1. if you love Halloween then you probably have a pretty good chance of winning my competition! its just a bit of fancy dress fun 🙂
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/28/competition-alert-who-dresses-the-fanciest/

  2. tinkerbelle86: hmmm… I’ll have to go through my pictures

Leave a Reply

