A Baker’s Report From the Trenches

This just in from Irma in ZWOLLE!

AND NOW WE’RE BAKING CUPCAKES!

At last the time had come.  It was raining in Zwolle, mother and son were home together (play date got cancelled) and so we felt like baking.

Twan proudly fetched the vanilla cupcake mix from the cupboard and we went to work!

With advertising for Antoinette!

TADADA!

All of the cups were filled without help and without spilling.

COUNTER ALL CLEAN AND TIDY!

In the meantime, we couldn’t resist secretly eating some of the batter (fortunately I had plans to go to the gym in the evening – 🙂

SO CUTE!

I took this picture when Twan wasn’t looking; he finds the miracle of rising cupcakes truly sublime to watch and could not be coaxed away from the oven.

NOW THIS PICTURE REALLY SHOWS HOW BEAUTIFUL THEY LOOKED.

THEN THE AFTERNOON TOOK A TURN FOR THE WORSE…

The cupcakes grew and grew and spilled over the sides of the pan.  After the eruption, they spontaneously collapsed.

Twan and I accused each other of opening the oven door, but neither one of us had.  ‘Oh well,’ we thought; it still smells good!

It was so sad: 12 terrible looking cupcakes…

TADADADADA!  THE RESULT!  NOT A CRUMB REMAINS!

Hahahahahahaha! I failed at being a good mother: I’m afraid I used the wrong milk. I only had 2% milk at home and not the whole….  But: they tasted good! My husband came home, looked a little bit surprised and just started to eat with a big smile, totally happy. Mission accomplished!

-o-

Well Irma and Twan, I’m so sorry your cupcakes didn’t turn out as expected!  I wasn’t sure that using 2% milk was the problem, s0 I did some digging to find out what might have gone wrong.  I’ve had this happen to me in some ovens (that looked like yours) when I’ve used the convection heat setting – something about the fan blowing makes them go crazy!

I also found this on the Gourmandise School site:

“It sounds like your oven may be hotter than normal.  In order for a cake to rise, a chemical reaction must occur.  The steam created from the heat in your oven reacts with the leavening agents in your batter (baking powder or baking soda).  If this reaction happens too fast, the outside of the cake will cook, but the inside will lose the momentum to rise and remain both heavy and underbaked.  The same holds true if you open your oven too early; the steam will escape the oven chamber and cause the cake to collapse.  The batter is then too heavy for the remaining leavening agents to ‘lift’ it back up.  

There are a few easy solutions to your problem. The first is to purchase an internal thermometer for your oven.  These are very inexpensive and can be found at your hardware store or kitchen supply shop.  If you have a gas oven, your gas company will come out and adjust your oven- often free of charge!  The last tip- and easiest to remember- is to never open the oven unless at least 3/4 of the time allotted for baking has passed.”

But when I looked more closely at your photographs, I spotted an important clue…

I think the answer lies in photo #2, where Twan is pictured emptying the contents of the small bag of frosting mix into your mixer!

I think you may have made some sort of souffle instead of cupcakes…

Don’t feel bad – you’re not the first ones to make this mistake.  We’re working on a solution to the problem at this very moment!  So the question now is:  did you use the contents of both bags to make the cupcakes, or only the frosting mix?  Either way, your cupcakes were doomed!

I’ll be bringing you a new bag of Vanilla Party Cupcake mix and a consolation prize tomorrow.  Freshly baked  – 🙂

Love,

Pavanne

Let them eat cake!

www.antoinetteonline.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Baker’s Report From the Trenches

  1. My suspicions have been confirmed – Twan and Irma used the frosting mix to make cupcakes by mistake! Oh well, as the saying goes: If at first you don’t succeed, try try again!

  2. Helene says:

    I’d say you’re a great mum, 2% milk or not!

  3. Helene, I agree! Three cheers for Irma!

Leave a Reply

