Rainy Day

“Mama, we’re bored!  Can we bake one of your mixes?”  It was a rainy day, the batteries had run out on the Wii remotes, and Alex’s best friend was staying over.  I wanted to say, “No.”  I wanted to say, “Do you have any idea how much time and effort it takes me to make one of those?”  I wanted to say, “I need all of the mixes to fill a big order.”  But then an old saying came to mind: The cobbler’s children go shoeless.  So, out of my mouth came, “Sure!  What would you like to bake?”

After about 5 minutes of squabbling, they settled on the Vanilla Party Cupcakes with Vanilla Frosting and sprinkles.  Personally, I would have gone for something chocolaty, but I wasn’t the one doing the baking!  I decided to let them do it without any assistance or supervision – quite a bold move considering these are 11 year-old boys, but I’m trying to be less of a control freak.  I just happened to be in the kitchen getting myself a glass of water when I noticed the first mistake.  The boys had failed to read the instructions before starting and were about to bake cupcakes using the frosting mix!  I kindly pointed this out to them and used the opportunity to lecture them on the importance of reading instructions (“Ma-maaaa”).  I then got them new butter, milk, and eggs, and made them a whole new frosting mix.

I’m actually kind of glad it happened.  You see, a few months ago, my friend’s 14-year-old daughter made the same mistake.  I had thought about labeling the small frosting bags then, but decided it was so obvious and clear in the instructions, that it must have been an isolated incident.  We’ll be labeling the bags from now on – except for the sprinkles.  If you can’t figure out that a bag of sprinkles isn’t cake mix, you should probably steer clear of ovens for your own safety!  In the end, a good time was had by all – and the cupcakes were yummy!

By the way, it’s been an exciting week here at Antoinette.  Our mixes are now for sale at Vivre Pour Toi in Apeldoorn (Koninginnelaan 66).  It’s our first store, so we couldn’t resist popping in and snapping a picture this morning!  Be sure to stop by and check it out – but bring your wallet – it’s such a beautiful shop, you’re going to want to buy everything!

Let them eat cake!

Love,

Pavanne

AntoinetteOnline

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

