Picture Perfect

I gave someone a good laugh the other day when I told him I was the “artsy fartsy” type. Seems he hadn’t heard that term in years. Grown ups tend to use more serious terminology like “creative” and “artistically inclined.” Whatever you choose to call it, I’d much rather be writing a poem, experimenting in my kitchen, or reading Jane Austen, than writing a business plan or studying Say It With Charts. So, after Brigitte and I spent a solid week compiling ad words and doing other dry tasks involving Excel spreadsheets, I was ready to do something artsy fartsy for a change.

With antoinetteonline.com about to go live, we’ve been proofreading it over and over until we were cross-eyed. After careful examination, we decided we were missing one picture. As Antoinette’s resident artiste, it was up to me to come up with one – what fun!!! After mulling over several ideas over the past few days, I decided to enter my kitchen and bake me up some props. I made a sheet cake, rolled out some red fondant and unpacked 50 different kinds of sprinkles and decorative icings from my secret stash.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I’ve always found fondant more than a little intimidating. It’s one thing to bake a cake and frost it, but fondant is more of an art form. I’ve always been in awe of a friend of ours who makes cakes so beautiful that it’s almost a pity to eat them. We simply must get her to guest star at Antoinette so she can show you how it’s done!

Anyway, I saw a picture in a book a couple of years ago and I’ve been itching to try it ever since. I made these concoctions, but I wasn’t completely satisfied and I still had a bunch of cake and fondant left over, so I made yet another thing, and that idea led to yet another idea. Coming up with ideas and acting on them is really such a kick – I highly recommend it! Of course, our children took one look at all of this stuff and made immediate plans to devour every last crumb. Only the promise that they could eat it the next day and that they could star in my pictures would appease them – they’ve informed me that they want to be famous.

We still have to sort through the almost 200 photos I shot yesterday. It’s really hard to choose just one. Two things are for certain though: our cake tastes great and our boys are really cute!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

